Sun Ra Arkestra announce their first album in 20 years ‘Swirling’

In these uncertain times, we all need a spirit guide. A sparkling light in the darkness of space to connect us with our wider cosmos. Sun Ra Arkestra must have heard our cries, announcing their new double LP ‘Swirling’ as “the Arkestra’s love offering to the world” [Marshall Allen]. Their first studio album in over 20 years, this new release upholds the ever-evolving and immortal nature of Sun Ra Arkestra, now under the musical leadership of saxophonist and Sun Ra veteran Marshall Allen.

Boasting an almighty line-up including Michael Ray, Danny Ray Thompson (RIP), Vincent Knoel Scott, Chancey, Cecil Brooks, Atakatune (RIP), Tyler Mitchell and Elson Nascimento, together they deliver new arrangements of treasured Arkestra tracks as well as never-before-recorded compositions. ‘Swirling’ made its way from the hands of producer Jim Hamilton at Rittenhouse Soundworks to Frank Merritt at The Carvery Studio where it was cut to vinyl. Coming out on 30th October 2020 on Strut, the album will be available on all formats and is available for pre-order here. Suitably cosmic artwork courtesy of brother Lewis Heriz.